Reviewed & approved by Dr. Nova Reyes · Last checked 2026-10-25. ← Back to Evidence Library

Cortexin: what the evidence says

At a glance

What it is: a mix of polypeptides extracted from animal brain cortex, sold in Russia as a nervous-system drug. R6 It is usually described as coming from pig (porcine) cortex: UNVERIFIED against the Russian label.

What the evidence says: Russian randomized trials in ischemic stroke and chronic poor brain blood flow report better recovery scores. They are Russian-language, mostly small, and not repeated outside Russia; a small trial found a rival drug (Cellex) worked better. R1, R2, R3, R4

Biggest risks: in the trials, side-effect rates were described as low and similar between groups. R2, R4 Reporting is limited to abstracts. Unknown

Rating

Human Human evidence Limited: ischemic stroke and chronic brain ischemia, Russian RCTs R1, R2, R3, R4 · Nootropic use in healthy people: No human data
Animal Animal / lab evidence Not rated here
Regulatory Not FDA-approved (no Drugs@FDA record) · Russia: reported as registered in GRLS UNVERIFIED · WADA 2026: not named; S0 depends on Russian registration status UNVERIFIED
Established human dose None outside Russia. Study details lists what trials used

Evidence verdict: Human: Limited (ischemic stroke); nootropic use: No human data Card verdict: Limited (ischemic stroke) · Nootropic use: No human data Card note: Varies by use, see page

This page reports what studies used. It is not dosing advice.

Legend: HUMAN data · ANIMAL / LAB data · UNKNOWN · UNVERIFIED: not yet confirmed against a primary source

About the evidence: nearly all Cortexin trials are Russian-language and published in one Russian neurology journal. Abstracts rarely state who funded the trial. UNVERIFIED whether the manufacturer sponsored them.

What is it?

Cortexin is an animal-brain peptide extract, similar in concept to Cerebrolysin. R6 A Cochrane review covers Cerebrolysin in stroke, not Cortexin, so its conclusions do not carry over. R8

Does it work?

Is it safe?

Gray-market "research use only" Cortexin: extra risks

Unknown contents. Vials sold online as "research use only" are not made under drug-quality rules, so identity, strength and sterility are unknown. This is a general caution; we have not found independent testing data for this product. Unknown Vendor claims about effects in people are marketing, not evidence. Unknown

What we don't know

Is it legal?

Not FDA-approved (no Drugs@FDA record, openFDA query Oct 25, 2026). Russia: reported as a registered medicine in the State Register of Medicines (GRLS) UNVERIFIED, not checked against grls.rosminzdrav.ru. EU, UK, Japan, China: UNVERIFIED not checked against EMA, MHRA, PMDA or NMPA. WADA: not named on the 2026 Prohibited List; S0 bans substances with no current governmental health-authority approval, which depends on Russian registration status UNVERIFIED.

Study details

These are amounts researchers used, not recommendations.

R1 Human Human: acute ischemic stroke vs placebo (Skoromets 2008)

Study People / model Route Amount used Follow-up Reported Side effects / limitations Citation
Skoromets 2008 62 hemispheric ischemic stroke Intramuscular 20 mg/day for 10 days, started within 6 h 28 days Better NIHSS, Rankin, Barthel vs placebo Small; numbers not in abstract PMID 19431244

R2 Human Human: acute ischemic stroke, low amount (Aliferova 2014)

Study People / model Route Amount used Follow-up Reported Side effects / limitations Citation
Aliferova 2014 272 ischemic stroke Intramuscular 10 mg three times a day; 2 courses, 1 course + placebo, or placebo 70 days Best with two 10-day courses Numbers not in abstract PMID 24874316

R3 Human Human: IV vs IM equivalence (Fedin 2025)

Study People / model Route Amount used Follow-up Reported Side effects / limitations Citation
Fedin 2025 490 acute ischemic stroke IV vs IM (double-dummy) 10 mg twice a day for 10 days, then IM 10 mg twice a day for 10 days 90 days mRS 0–2: 93.6% vs 86.5% No placebo arm; AEs 74/60 pts vs 51/41 pts PMID 41524350

R4 Human Human: chronic cerebral ischemia (Fedin 2018)

Study People / model Route Amount used Follow-up Reported Side effects / limitations Citation
Fedin 2018 189 chronic brain ischemia Intramuscular 20 mg vs 10 mg vs basic treatment, 10 days, repeated at 6 months ~6+ months Dose-dependent benefit on symptoms, asthenia, sleep Blinding not stated PMID 30335070

R5 Human Human: Cellex vs Cortexin (Khabirov 2020)

Study People / model Route Amount used Follow-up Reported Side effects / limitations Citation
Khabirov 2020 40 early stroke recovery IM (Cortexin) 10 mg/day for 10 days Not in abstract Cellex better on NIHSS and MMSE Small, active comparator PMID 33449527

R6 Review: mechanisms (Gomazkov 2015)

PMID 26356623

R7 Human Human: type 2 diabetes neurological complications (DIACORT 2026)

Study People / model Route Amount used Follow-up Reported Side effects / limitations Citation
DIACORT 2026 110 T2D with neuro complications IM 10 mg, ten injections, added to glycine + B vitamins 90 days Better MoCA, HADS, neuropathy scores vs control Blinding not stated; 5 AEs total PMID 42133422

R8 Cochrane review of Cerebrolysin (not Cortexin) in stroke (2023)

PMID 37818733

Full reference list (PubMed entries checked Oct 25, 2026)

  1. Skoromets AA, et al. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2008;Suppl 22:32-8. PMID 19431244
  2. Aliferova VM, et al. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2014;114(4):41-6. PMID 24874316
  3. Fedin AI, et al. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2025;125(12):60-7. PMID 41524350
  4. Fedin AI, et al. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2018;118(9):35-42. PMID 30335070
  5. Khabirov FA, et al. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2020;120(12 Vyp 2):11-5. PMID 33449527
  6. Gomazkov OA. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2015. Cortexin: molecular mechanisms and targets of neuroprotective activity. PMID 26356623
  7. [No authors listed]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2026;126(4):101-12 (DIACORT). PMID 42133422
  8. Ziganshina LE, et al. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2023. Cerebrolysin for acute ischaemic stroke. PMID 37818733

Disclaimer

This page is for education and harm reduction, not medical advice or a recommendation to use Cortexin. Talk to a clinician you trust before using any drug, and report problems to FDA MedWatch (https://www.fda.gov/safety/medwatch).

Approved for Adam Greene by Dr. Nova Reyes, 2026-10-25.