Reviewed & approved by Dr. Nova Reyes · Last checked 2026-10-25. ← Back to Evidence Library

Semax: what the evidence says

At a glance

Semax is reported to be a registered medicine in Russia: UNVERIFIED. FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee reviewed Semax bulk substances in July 2026; outcome not summarized here. R3

What it is: a lab-made peptide based on a fragment of ACTH (a pituitary hormone), developed in Russia and given as nasal drops. R1, R2

What the evidence says: Russian studies in ischemic stroke report faster recovery when added to standard care, but they were small and not clearly randomized. No studies of gray-market "nootropic" use by healthy people. R1, R2

Biggest risks: side effects were not well reported in the studies we read. Unknown

Rating

Human Human (acute ischemic stroke & post-stroke rehab, Russian trials) Limited: small, mostly nonrandomized Russian studies (30-vs-80 acute stroke cohort and 110-patient rehab study) R1, R2
Human Human (brain connectivity in healthy volunteers, single intranasal dose) Very limited: two resting-state fMRI studies (24 and 54 healthy volunteers); surrogate imaging endpoint only R5, R6
Human Human (gray-market wellness / nootropic, subcutaneous or nasal) No human data
Regulatory Not FDA-approved (no Drugs@FDA record) · Not on 503A Bulks List; reviewed at FDA's July 23–24, 2026 PCAC meeting (FDA media 193348) R3 · Registered in Russia as 0.1% (Р N000812/01) and 1% (ЛСР-000167/08) nasal drops (Vidal.ru mirror; direct GRLS <span class="tag unverified">UNVERIFIED</span>) R7 · WADA 2026: not named; S0 status of Russian-only drugs unruled R4
Established human dose None outside Russia. Trial arms are in Study details

Evidence verdict: Human (stroke): Limited · Human (gray-market wellness/nootropic): No human data Card verdict: Limited (acute ischemic stroke, small Russian studies) · Brain fMRI (single dose): Very limited · Nootropic/wellness use: No human data Card note: Varies by use, see page

This page reports what studies used. It is not dosing advice.

Legend: HUMAN data · ANIMAL / LAB data · UNKNOWN · UNVERIFIED: not yet confirmed against a primary source

What is it?

Semax (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro) is ACTH(4-7) linked to a Pro-Gly-Pro tail for stability. R1 For Selank, a related Russian peptide, see Selank.

Does it work?

Is it safe?

Gray-market "research use only" Semax: extra risks

Unknown contents. Products sold online as "research use only" or "not for human use" are not made under drug-quality rules, so identity, strength and sterility are unknown. This is a general caution; we have not found testing data for this product specifically. Unknown

What we don't know

Is it legal?

Not FDA-approved in the US (no Drugs@FDA record, openFDA query Oct 24, 2026), and not on the 503A Bulks List (21 CFR 216.23). FDA reviewed Semax (free base) and Semax acetate at its July 23–24, 2026 PCAC meeting (FDA media 193348). R3 In Russia, Semax 0.1% (Р N000812/01) and 1% (ЛСР-000167/08) nasal drops carry registrations verified via Vidal.ru mirror (direct GRLS fetch <span class="tag unverified">UNVERIFIED</span>). R7 EU, UK, Japan, China: UNVERIFIED not checked against EMA, MHRA, PMDA or NMPA. WADA: not named on the 2026 Prohibited List. S0 covers only substances with no current approval anywhere, so whether it applies depends on the Russian registration, which is UNVERIFIED R4.

Study details

These are doses researchers used, not recommendations.

R1–R2 Human Human

Study People / model Route Dose used Follow-up Reported Side effects / dropouts Citation
Gusev 1997 30 semax vs 80 conventional-therapy controls; acute hemispheric ischemic stroke Nasal (not stated in abstract) 12 mg/day (moderate) or 18 mg/day (severe) reported most effective 5–10 day course Faster regression of neurological deficits Not in abstract PMID 11517472
Gusev 2018 110 post-stroke patients, semax+ vs semax− subgroups Not stated in abstract Two 10-day courses of 6000 mcg/day, 20 days apart ~5 months Higher BDNF; better Barthel index Not in abstract PMID 29798983
Lebedeva 2018 24 healthy volunteers (crossover vs placebo) Intranasal Single dose Acute fMRI scan Altered default-mode network rostral subcomponent connectivity Surrogate neuroimaging endpoint only PMID 30225715
Panikratova 2020 54 healthy volunteers (Semax, Selank, control) Intranasal Single administration Acute fMRI scan Altered right amygdala–temporal cortex functional connectivity Surrogate neuroimaging endpoint only PMID 32342318

R3 Regulatory

FDA, Briefing Document for Semax-Related Bulk Drug Substances, PCAC July 23–24, 2026 (from source-index.csv; outcome not reviewed).

Full reference list (PubMed entries verified Oct 24, 2026)

  1. R1 Gusev EI, et al. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 1997;97(6):26-34. PMID 11517472
  2. R2 Gusev EI, et al. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2018;118(3 Vyp 2):61-68. PMID 29798983
  3. R3 FDA PCAC briefing document, July 2026. https://www.fda.gov/media/193348/download
  4. R4 WADA. World Anti-Doping Code International Standard: Prohibited List 2026 (in force Jan 1, 2026). https://www.wada-ama.org/sites/default/files/2025-09/2026list_en_final_clean_september_2025.pdf (text read Oct 24, 2026)
  5. R5 Lebedeva IS, et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2018;165(5):653-656. doi:10.1007/s10517-018-4234-3. PMID 30225715
  6. R6 Panikratova YR, et al. Dokl Biol Sci. 2020;490(1):9-11. doi:10.1134/S001249662001007X. PMID 32342318
  7. R7 Vidal.ru Russian registry mirror for Semax 0.1% (Р N000812/01) and 1% (ЛСР-000167/08, Peptogen). https://www.vidal.ru/drugs/semax__3119
  8. R8 Vanhee C, et al. Drug Test Anal. 2020;12(2):275-280. doi:10.1002/dta.2693. PMID 31667971

Disclaimer

This page summarizes published research for education and harm reduction; it is not medical advice or a recommendation to use Semax. Talk to a clinician you trust before using any drug, and report side effects to FDA MedWatch.

Approved for Adam Greene by Dr. Nova Reyes, 2026-10-25.