Evidence review: Open Peptide Project (verified against primary PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov & FDA records) · Last checked 2026-10-27. ← Back to Evidence Library

Chitomur (bladder peptide complex): what the evidence says

At a glance

What it is: an oral capsule sold as a Khavinson bladder-tissue peptide complex. UNVERIFIED the product code (A-12), the source tissue and manufacturing method; these come from Nova's spec and seller descriptions.

What the evidence says: Human unlike the other complexes in this batch, two Russian-language randomized blind studies by the same group exist: one in women aged 48–80 with overactive bladder, R1 and one placebo-controlled study in men aged 62–83 with benign prostatic hyperplasia. R2 Both reported better urination measures and quality of life. UNVERIFIED sample sizes, doses and effect sizes; only short abstracts were available.

Biggest risks: none reported in either study, but the studies were small and short. UNVERIFIED safety data beyond the abstracts.

Rating

Human Human evidence Very limited: two small blind trials R1, R2
Animal Animal / lab evidence Not reviewed
Regulatory Not FDA-approved · not on FDA's 503A or 503B bulk-substance category lists and not on FDA's compounding safety-risk page R3, R4, R5 · not named by WADA R6
Established human dose No

Evidence verdict: Overactive bladder (older women) and BPH urinary symptoms (older men): Very limited (two small Russian blind trials)

This page reports what studies used. It is not dosing advice.

Legend: HUMAN data · ANIMAL / LAB data · UNKNOWN · UNVERIFIED: not yet confirmed against a primary source

About the evidence: both studies come from one research group, were published in a Russian gerontology journal, and give few numbers in the abstracts. They have not been replicated independently.

What is it?

Related pages: prostamax, libidon.

Does it work?

Is it safe?

Gray-market vials: extra risks

A gray-market vial has no quality control and no guarantee of identity, strength or sterility. We test retail vials blind under the Open Peptide Standard; see /tests/. A passing test covers one batch on one date and does not mean the compound is safe.

Is it legal?

Study details
Study details

These are amounts researchers used, not recommendations.

Study People / model Route Amount used Follow-up Reported Citation
Gomberg 2013a Women 48–80, overactive bladder Oral Not stated in abstract Per study Symptoms improved PMID 28976156
Gomberg 2013b Men 62–83, BPH Oral Not stated in abstract Course + 1 month Urination improved vs placebo PMID 24640697

Full reference list (PubMed, CT.gov, FDA and WADA checked Oct 27, 2026)

  1. R1 Gomberg VG, et al. Adv Gerontol. 2013. PMID 28976156
  2. R2 Gomberg VG, et al. Adv Gerontol. 2013. PMID 24640697
  3. R3 FDA, 503A bulk drug substances categories list (updated May 14, 2026). https://www.fda.gov/media/94155/download
  4. R4 FDA, 503B bulk drug substances categories list (updated Mar 21, 2025). https://www.fda.gov/media/94164/download
  5. R5 FDA, Certain bulk drug substances for use in compounding that may present significant safety risks (content current Apr 22, 2026). https://www.fda.gov/drugs/human-drug-compounding/certain-bulk-drug-substances-use-compounding-may-present-significant-safety-risks
  6. R6 WADA. The 2026 Prohibited List, full list checked; compound not named. https://www.wada-ama.org/sites/default/files/2025-09/2026list_en_final_clean_september_2025.pdf

Disclaimer

This page is for education and harm reduction, not medical advice or a recommendation to use Chitomur (bladder peptide complex). This compound is not FDA-approved. Any product sold under this name in the US is unregulated. Report problems to FDA MedWatch (https://www.fda.gov/safety/medwatch).